My Back to School Poncho

back to school poncho

I have been meaning to make myself something before I go back to school and a recent discovery of Flannel fabric at Hancock Fabric brought the inspiration.I felt the softness of the fabric, saw the pattern and knew this was going to be my poncho. A while back, I pinned Rachel’s tutorial on how to sew a wool poncho and all I was waiting for was the right fabric.

back to school poncho
back to school poncho

Well, fast forward to a shopping spree that included much more than just that flannel (how do fabric stores do that? I never can walk in and just get one thing…) and here I am with my cute poncho. I think it’s a little big on me but once it’s fall and I’m in my turtlenecks, I think this will flow just fine. I love Rachel’s tutorial and I think it’s fairly straightforward.

Yay, now I won’t be cold waiting for the campus shuttle.

back to school poncho
back to school poncho

I think the general pattern also works for lose fitting tops/shirts. Add a seam on each side and you have sleeves😉

back to school poncho
back to school poncho

Now my next project is a cape out of the same fabric. Let’s see how that is working out…

Franzi

Leave a Reply

