Happy Birthday Mama – Burlap Placemats and Coasters

Burlap Placemats and Coasters with Lace

My mom’s birthday is in a few months but seeing that we are continents apart I had to get started on her present early. A while back I saw some cute burlap placemats at a store and thought that I could do that too. And I did!

burlap placemats and coasters
burlap placemats and coasters

The mats measure approx. 13.5 in x 15in. Plates in Europe are smaller so that’s why I went with a slightly smaller measurement than your average American placemat. I also made coasters which measure approx. 3.5in square.

Overall, this cost me maybe $15 in material but it looks very expensive because of the lace. I made six placemats and six coasters. For the placemats I used a total of approx. 10 yards of lace.

close-up of burlap placemats and coasters
close-up of burlap placemats and coasters

I used a light yellow thread and sewed the lace onto the burlap (approx 1/5 in from the side) using a straight stitch and then zigzagged around to secure the burlap from unravelling. This also served as reinforcement for sewing the lace.

Sewing the coasters was a little trickier because everything was smaller but I am still satisfied with the results.

close-up burlap coaster
close-up burlap coaster

I am in love with that coffee ribbon. It came on a 27 yard spool so I have plenty left over for other fun projects (think kitchen hand towels or oven mittens…basically anything kitchen or coffee related, lol).

Now the only downside to placemats like these is that you cannot put them in the wash when they are stained. Well, clever me thought of that! Prevent the stains! I sprayed the placemats with a silicone spray that makes them waterproof (or at least stain resistant). I found my spray at Kmart in the camping aisle but I’m sure there are many other stores you can get a spray like that. It’s used for boots, camping gear, leather, cotton etc.  If you want to try it, test it first though because it may change the color of your fabric/lace. In my case it made everything a little darker. Not much but maybe a shade or two. For good measures I sprayed the front and back and let it all dry for 24 hours.

waterproof your placemats
waterproof your placemats

This was the first time I worked with burlap and I was a little apprehensive. I read so much about fraying and it all being a big mess that  I was very unsure but I have to say it wasn’t that bad. Sure it’s a little messy when you cut it, but I used a rotary cutter and that eliminates a lot of the frizz, I believe.

Also, initially I tried to “pull” the burlap into shape so that its fibers went vertical and horizontal at 90 degree angles but I soon learned that it’s not worth it to call for that kind of perfection. It’s a natural fiber that does what it wants. The roll I bought the burlap on was consistent in its 13.5in measurement and that was important (by the way, buying the burlap cut on a roll ensures you only have to make one cut helping you eliminate the frizz).

burlap placemat
burlap placemat

I’ll put this in a box and ship it to my mom sometime this week. Hope she enjoys her birthday present!

Burlap Placemats and Coasters with Lace
Burlap Placemats and Coasters with Lace

Best,

Franzi

One thought on “Happy Birthday Mama – Burlap Placemats and Coasters

Leave a Reply

