Grad school – or how my sewing machine does not recognize me anymore

I know it’s totally lame to just have excuses for not blogging but grad school got the better of me. It is that time in the semester when nothing gets done to my full satisfaction. Papers are “OK” but not “yes, I feel good about this one” and reading for classes is a mix of speed-reading and “intro+summary must suffice”. I don’t like these weeks but so far every semester had them and this one does too. So I know I will get through but I also know that I need to take care of myself in order not to burn out right before crunch time (aka the 3 days in December when all papers are due).

Thankfully there is Halloween and I am planning on sewing my own costume this year. Not sure when I’ll have the time to go fabric shopping or the time to actually sew but I am set on making my own bumblebee dress! Pictures WILL follow, I promise.

In other news, I also have to start thinking about Christmas presents for my colleagues and people who helped me in this past year. I am thinking of coffee cozies or something similar. Nothing fancy but still thoughtful and fun. We’ll see what I can come up with. I have the template and a general idea, just need to sit down and give it a try.

Stay tuned, there will be a new post in the near future!

Franzi

Leave a Reply

