Cup Cozies – my latest addiction

cup cozies
cup cozies
cup cozies

I have a new addiction: cup cozies. I’ve been meaning to make some this year as stocking stuffers and this weekend, I got around to sewing a few samplers. I.AM.ADDICTED!!!

These are so easy to make and instantly brighten up your desk/walk/day.

cup cozy
cup cozy

I started out collecting several of the paper/cardboard cup holders to see if the are basically all the same size (they are). Once that was established, I took one, folded my fabric, and cut one side. I then took another fabric, repeated the folding and cutting and then had 2 pieces.

cup cozies
cup cozies

I used both cotton and fleece as fabrics and I tried a fleece/cotton combination today with super hot water and it worked just fine! Yes, it’s really that simple. If you want to use a button as closure, cut a hair elastics in half and use that to hook the button under. The elastics also allows for more flexibility in cup sizes.

However, I also made one with snaps and I think this is a more child friendly version (and easily reversible).

cup cozy
cup cozy

One snap would have done but I am German so I needed things to be even and all that…

Well, what can I say, in my mind I already made 1000 of these! I love the simplicity and practicality of it!

cup cozy close up
cup cozy close up

Happy sewing!

Franzi

Leave a Reply

