this is what i do when i procrastinate – pillow tutorial

pillow case front
soft pillow case
soft pillow case

I should be doing grad school work, really, I should. The semester is winding down and final papers are due…but hey, I have to keep my mental health in check too. Hence, I got back to my piles and piles of fabric and decided to be creative.

pillow case front

pillow case front

I’ve been meaning to make a pillow case for a while now but never got around to it until last night. So here it is, my first pillow case with a hotel closure (I think that’s what it’s called…you know, that overlapping closure instead of one end being open or having snaps or a zipper to close it).

cozy pillow back closure
cozy pillow back closure

I made it for a boy but when I selected the fabrics I realized a lot of what I had was girly-ish so I tried to remain color neutral. Worked somewhat. But whatever, the point is, I wanted to make a soft pillow, so I used fleece for most of the fabric. Only the circle fabric is cotton.

applique
applique

I drew the K by hand, cut out the shape and then applique’d it with the machine. Once done, I realized that I had bought wonder under to try (never worked with it before) so that’s when I decided I wanted to make another pillow.

The front measures:

13×9.5 (owls) – 2 pieces

6×9.5 (circles) – 2 pieces

The back measures

8×19 (smaller back piece, tucked under) – 1 piece

14×19 (larger back piece, fully visible) – 1 piece

I started piecing the front together, giving the seams a good dose of my heated iron once done. I also applique’d the K onto the larger back piece and hemmed the edges that would be at the closure of the pillow case. I then put the front and larger back piece right on right together and pinned the shorter back piece right side down over the larger back piece.

Then, I sewed around all 4 sides, trimmed the corners and voila – it’s a pillowcase measuring 19×19 inches!

Love it! It’s soft, it looks great, and you can place it with the back side visible also.

soft pillow case
soft pillow case

On to making more pillow cases!

Franzi

One thought on “this is what i do when i procrastinate – pillow tutorial

Leave a Reply

