Mug rugs a.k.a. my fallout shelter got some siblings

mug rugs

We are visiting friends in New York City for New Years and I wanted to make something personal as a gift. Since I have not done a mug rug yet, I thought now is the time. So I made my first attempt last night and this was the result.

mug rug sample
mug rug sample

Remind you of something? Yep, it screamed fallout shelter or biohazard. Pick your poison. I didn’t know how to fix it and I didn’t want to rip the seams, so I did what every modern seamstress is doing: I took it to social media. Basically, I just wanted to know if I am too critical with the pattern or if others see what I see.

Well, opinion was split, so today, I decided to give my fallout shelter some siblings in the hopes that it wouldn’t stand out as much. Guess what? Mission accomplished!

mug rugs
mug rugs

The pattern is a 3inch teal strip sewn together with a 2.5inch colored strip. I then cut the fabric at 60 degree angles. For the rug, I alternated the triangles until I had a hexagon shape. I then pinned 2 triangles, sewed down one side, pressed the seam open, and added a third triangle. I did the same for the other 3 triangles of the color scheme so that eventually I had 2 hexagon halves that I sewed together. Now of course, pinning is key to get everything lined up right. Take your time with this step to get a good result. No time to rush this!

mug rugs
mug rugs

For the backing I used felt. I cut a long strip and just placed the hexagons on it and sewed with a 1/4inch seam allowance.

mug rugs
mug rugs

I have to say, looking at the hexagons on the strip, I was very tempted to not cut them out at all. I kind of liked the look of the composition (albeit it wasn’t aligned at all since that wasn’t what I was going for).

mug rugs
mug rugs

The nice thing about felt is that it does not fray so I basically just took my rotary cutter and cut the hexagons out of the felt. Easy! This is a simple work-around for anyone who does not feel comfortable (yet) with using bias tape. Sew it on felt and your good to go.

mug rugs
mug rugs

Well, mug rugs done, I guess. Easy present and a great way to make a dent in your fabric stash.

Happy sewing!

Franzi

Leave a Reply

