Finished the tablerunner

table runner

Remember me being stuck finding a pattern for a table runner? Well, sometimes it helps to put a project down and not think about it for a few days.

I eventually decided to give the runner one more try. I turned it 45 degrees, juuuust to see what that would change and i have to say, I was surprised. I realized that I can join the two squares and just turn it into a runner that way.

So I added an even amount of strips and this was the result:

table runner
table runner

Totally uneven, right? Well, it’s git the same amount of rows but for some reason, it’s not evened out.

Anyways, I decided to keep going. I figured that if this is on a table, no one will have the necessary distance to the piece to see it’s unevenness. So, I cut it down a little on the sides, added some felt on the back and here is the final result:

table runner
table runner

I love it! It’s the first item I made for us to keep this Christmas. I hope we’ll be using it for years to come. It’s not perfect, but I enjoyed making it nonetheless.

Franzi

2 thoughts on “Finished the tablerunner

  1. Verrätst du mir BITTE mal, wie bei dir immer alles so gerade wird!? Ich werd noch WAHNSINNIG. Ich möchte einmal irgendwas fertig kriegen und es ist nicht krumm und schief und die Nähte von Einzelteilen liegen wieder nebeneinander statt aufeinander. Irgendwie merk ich da auch keinen Lerneffekt bei mir.

    1. Mama sagt: “Mit Geduld und Spucke, faengt man eine Mucke”. Irgendwie konnte ich schon immer gut grade naehen. Es hilft, wenn du langsam machst und die Haende erst vom Stoff nimmst, wenn der Fuss vom Pedal ist (zB beim Pins entfernen).

      Wenn ich naehe gucke ich nicht auf die Nadel sondern an die Kante vom Naehfuss die mir die 5mm Marke (oder was auch immer mein Rand werden soll) anzeigt. So weiss ich, dass ich den Stoff genau unter dem Naehfuss habe und dann kann eigentlich nur noch grade genaeht werden.

      Manchmal ist auch ne Nadel einfach krumm. Dann am besten wechseln und neu probieren.
      ~ Franzi

Leave a Reply

