Daisies and an Izzy Top

Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric

Sorry, I have been neglecting my blog lately. It’s my last semester in grad school and little did I know that that will be the busiest ever. With doing research for and writing my capstone, job searching, working, and taking another 3 credit class that has about 300 pages to read per session, I am busy. 

I was itching to sew though and yesterday, I could not wait any longer. It was time for a break.

Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric
Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric (front)

I had been meaning to sew an Izzy top for a while but since I have no little ones in my life that project was put on the back burner. Well, I dug it out yesterday and I am so glad, I did! This top is the cutest ever. I made mistakes, yes, and I am bad at following directions but overall it turned out well and I am very proud of my accomplishment.

Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric (back)
Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric (back)

I ended up making pleats by hand because I was too unsure about the gathering function of my serger. Didn’t want to risk ruining the whole piece just because I got the settings wrong…there will come a time and day when I will serge the bodice and the skirt pieces together!

Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric (close up)
Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric (close up)

Now that I have made an Izzy too, I understand what all the rave was about. It’s a fast sew (even for me) and it looks so cute – almost unbelievable that Teri from Climbing the Willow made this a freebook.

Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric (button close up)
Izzy Top with Daisy Fabric (button close up)

There will be more Izzy’s in my future, I think. This is just too cute of a pattern to only make once!

Happy Sewing,

Franzi

 

Leave a Reply

