A Quilt in the Making

gray with yellow quilt

For quite some time now I have had this idea of making a black and white quilt. I wanted to use all black and white fabrics, maybe with some gray and create a great modern quilt. And then I realized that I liked yellow with gray as well so I moved towards a “gray with a touch of yellow” quilt. 

gray with yellow quilt
gray with yellow quilt

I didn’t use a pattern but got inspired by a 60 degree triangle quilt I have seen on pinterest so I just went to work. After cutting a whole bunch of triangles, I started to piece the rows, and then sewed them. No fabrics of the same color are in the same “wheel” or touching each other. It’s still a work in progress but you can see where I am going with it.

gray with yellow quilt
gray with yellow quilt

I plan on adding a gray border and a plain back to it. So excited to see this idea come to life! I just love the colors!

Happy sewing,

Franzi

4 thoughts on “A Quilt in the Making

    1. Thank you! It did take a while (and lots of climbing on the couch for a better vantage point) to see if the layout was juuust right especially since I didn’t have a pattern to work off of. I’m excited to finish this in the next months🙂

      ~Franzi

Leave a Reply

