Burlap table runner with lace

burlap table runner

It’s Fall which means it’s slowly getting colder and my urge to nest is intensifying. Though I sew a lot, I typically don’t sew for our house, but this time around I made an exception. Last christmas, I made my first table runner and I decided it was time for the next one.  So here I present to you, my burlap table runner:

burlap table runner
burlap table runner
burlap table runner
burlap table runner
burlap table runner
burlap table runner

I love the detail of the lace. I actually got that for $1 a spool (3 yards) at Joanns. It’s a very soft, natural beige lace and I love how it works with the burlap. I actually did something similar last year when I did the placemats for my mom, remember?

burlap placemats and coasters
burlap placemats and coasters

As life has it, I was two inches short of lace for finishing this table runner. I had to improvise and here’s what I came up with:

burlap table runner
burlap table runner

It’s not perfect but I hope it’s subtle enough that no one will notice.😉   If you are still looking for some easy fall decoration, give burlap a try! It’s easy to use and adds a nice rustic charme.   Happy sewing, Franzi

Leave a Reply

