World’s easiest cardigan

world's fastest cardigan

I am addicted to sewing anything that looks expensive but is very simple to do. Imagine my delight when I heard about the world’s fastest cardigan. I found instructions on this German blog (no worries, the pictures tell it all, it’s an 120cm x 110 cm rectangle) and i can’t stop making them! I found great soft knit and went ahead and did my first version.

world's fastest cardigan
world’s fastest cardigan
world's fastest cardigan
world’s fastest cardigan
world's fastest cardigan
world’s fastest cardigan

While I love this version, I thought it could be improved so for the next 2, I serged all 4 sides before folding the sleeves. I think this adds a more professional touch and if you use contrasting thread to the knit you are using, you can actually achieve an effect that resembles binding.

world's fastest cardigan
world’s fastest cardigan

For this pink one, I used two threads of orange and two threads of white. It looks really nice. But being the nice person that I am, I am gave this one away as a birthday present.

The next one I made was also a birthday present. I think this one looks great (excuse my messed up blouse)!

IMG_4448-001

world's fastest cardigan
world’s fastest cardigan
world's fastest cardigan
world’s fastest cardigan

The nice thing about the slouchiness of the cardigan is that you can wear it in many different ways – just plain as it comes, folded with an outside collar, the collar folded in (brings up the whole cardigan to hip level), sleeves up to the shoulders or drooping down etc. And different knits and drapy materials achieve different looks. I love this very easy item – great present, great for everyday wear!

Happy sewing,

Franzi

Leave a Reply

