Rag quilt that turns into a sleeping bag

girl rag quilt

So I am in the process of reducing my stash and rag quilts are a great way to do that. I started this girl rag quilt (for my niece) a few weeks ago but only now got around to take pictures.

This is the quilt washed once and put in the dryer 3 times. I washed it cold and dried it low (when it was wet) and used the air fluff setting for the other 2 times. As you can see, it is slightly frayed but can certainly fray some more.

girl rag quilt detail
girl rag quilt detail
girl rag quilt detail
girl rag quilt detail

As I was sewing up the quilt, I was wondering what else a little girl would do with a fluffy blanket like this. And then I thought of sleep overs and sleeping bags….and thus the idea to include ties was born.

girl rag quilt turned sleeping bag
girl rag quilt turned sleeping bag
girl rag quilt
girl rag quilt

I attached simple ties at the side of each square along 3 sides of the quilt. Thus, when it is folded in half, you can use the ties to close the blanket and turn it into a sleeping bag. Pretty genius, he?😉

Love how it came out and I hope my niece likes it too.

Happy Sewing,

Franzi

3 thoughts on “Rag quilt that turns into a sleeping bag

Leave a Reply

