Time for some patches on a motorcycle jacket!

motorcycle jacket6

I have a very special person in my life who allowed me to put patches onto his motorcycle jacket. I had never done patches, and never worked with such a sturdy item as a motorcycle jacket before. So needless to say that I was worried and not sure if I could pull it off.

On top of it all, my current machine, a Singer Simple, just doesn’t have the horsepower for such a job. So imagine my excitement when one day a few weeks ago, he said he had a surprise for me: He bought me a Heavy Duty Singer 4411 to get the job done. I was stunned and happy and excited but also intimidated. It meant that now I really had to put patches on!

We worked on the layout for a while and the jacket was and still is a work in progress. I still have to put velcro in the front pockets but the patches themselves make the jacket look amazing!

The “Born Free American” and the wolfe on the back were not put on by me, the rest was. I am very proud of myself and of making this already awesome jacket even more badass!

I love the jacket and the person in it!

motorcycle jacket7
motorcycle jacket7
motorcycle jacket6
motorcycle jacket6
motorcycle jacket5
motorcycle jacket5
motorcycle jacket4
motorcycle jacket4
motorcycle jacket3
motorcycle jacket3
motorcycle jacket2
motorcycle jacket2
motorcycle jacket1
motorcycle jacket1

What are my lessons learned?

1 – You need very sturdy pins. If you can’t pin the patches they will come out crooked. We utilize lapel pins to get through the, often thick, patch and jacket to keep it in place until a few stitches were sewn. Especially with the big patches like the Blackhawk and the Cubs logo, as well as the eagle, this was essential.

2 – Go slow, there’s no rush. If you rush you are likely to miss the line, go crooked, or do some other awkward stuff.

3 – Find a stitch length that works for you. The patches already in place were done with a much wider stitch length than I prefer to work with. I stuck to what I am used and it worked nicely. Positive side effect is that the patches will stay on longer in case of a road rash accident.

4 – Match colors as best as you can. There will be one more Cubs logo on the front but that is all covered in blue and I didn’t have blue on hand. Black was showing too much for my taste so I ripped it out again and will put it on with a blue thread. That’ll have to wait until next week though.

And with that, I encourage you to go out an put on some patches, it’s fun!!!

Happy sewing,

Franzi

Leave a Reply

