Shark Sleeping Bag

shark sleeping bag

I love this gift! This Christmas I had the honor of sewing for three little ones aged 5 (boy), 6 (girl) and 8 (girl). While the girls got mermaid tail sleeping bags, I decided to make a shark sleeping bag!

shark sleeping bag
shark sleeping bag

Honestly, I had no idea how to pull this off but a google search led me to this awesome video which detailed all the steps. I didn’t use the foam as suggested in the video, I just stuffed the fins with batting and the rest of the fabric was fleece.

Because I didn’t have a child to measure I sort of winged the size and ended up producing a large shark😉

For the pattern, I drew a fish shape, the back fin and the side fins.

The gills, 3 on either side and the eyes as well as the teeth really give it that shark look. Don’t overthink it when you make the pattern, it does not have to be precise. Just go with the flow and you will create a beautiful shark that will be loved!

shark sleeping bag teeth
shark sleeping bag teeth

This sleeping bag was so much fun to make! It’s an awesome creation and the little 5 year old truly loved getting it.

shark sleeping bag back fin
shark sleeping bag back fin

Next time I’ll make one for myself. This was so much fun to make!

Happy Sewing and Happy Holidays!

Franzi

Leave a Reply

